Reading Time | 2 mins

Meet the team – Evan White

Share this article

Semi-Senior Accountant Evan White joined BHP in July 2016 after completing her AAT level 3 qualification at Sheffield City College. Find out what she enjoys most about her work and what she likes to do in her spare time.

What attracted you to BHP?

The social aspect of BHP is what mainly attracted me to the firm. There is often a social event or activity taking place, giving lots of opportunities to meet new people and make new friends.

What is your role and what does a typical day look like for you?

I am currently a semi-senior in the Healthcare department. My typical day includes preparing GP practice accounts and the supporting schedules. As the firm grows, and we take on new starters, my role also includes training and assisting new trainees.

How has BHP helped you in your career so far?

BHP has supported me in my job role since the day I started. I am working towards my ACCA qualification, and this has come with its own challenges. However, BHP strives to encourage everyone to do their absolute best to get those results. Alongside studying, I have also been given the opportunity to progress my career by managing my own clients and workload.

What are your career highlights and achievements?

One of my highlights is becoming a part of the wellbeing team in the Chesterfield office. I love to know that I can make an impact on someone’s life even in a small way. A key achievement was walking 19 miles around Ladybower and Derwent reservoirs last October and raising money for charity.

Who or what inspires you at work?

My colleagues in the Healthcare team are the people that inspire me. We all have a love for our job, and they make the workplace a positive place to be.

What advice would you give to someone thinking about applying for a role at BHP?

The more you put into your work at BHP, the more you will get out of it.

What do you enjoy doing outside of working?

I enjoy walking in the Peak District and other places in the UK. My favourite place I have visited so far is Snowdon. A year ago, I adopted my crazy dog Loki so my life outside of work consists of training and entertaining him. I also enjoy shopping with my friends.

What do you prefer? A TV series or a film? And which genre do you prefer?

I prefer a series; I love period dramas or crime documentaries. But you can’t go wrong with a good Disney film every now and then!

If you could host a celebrity dinner, who would you invite?

I would invite Brian May, Henry Cavill and Olivia Coleman. Just to listen to all their life stories.

What is your favourite type of cuisine and why?

I love Indian food. My favourite dish would be a paneer masala with egg fried rice.

What type of holiday do you prefer? Beach, active or city break?

I prefer more active holidays in and around the UK. There are so many beautiful places on my doorstep that I want to explore.

If you weren’t in your current role, what would your dream job be?

My dream job would be a dog walker, I think it would be great fun meeting lots of dogs every day!