Reading Time | 2 mins

Meet the team – Max Green

Share this article

We’re meeting another key member of our team – Max Green. Max joined BHP Financial Planning as a trainee back in January 2021, right in the middle of the global pandemic. He’s now a qualified financial planner. Read our interview to find out what Max’s daily job entails and what he enjoys doing away from the office.

When did you join BHP?

Two years and four months ago now; I had one day in the office and then we went into national lockdown – I’m not sure what I did wrong!

What does your day-to-day role involve?

Every day is different, which is one of the reasons I enjoy it so much. Some days I’ll be in the office, some days at home or at a client’s house or office – in a suit or in my jeans. It can be a day full of client meetings working with them on pensions, investments, inheritance tax, cash flow analysis and so on, or full of admin and meeting notes, or a mix of both. I occasionally help out the technical team with writing reports when they are at capacity and I work on research, too, if I have the time.

Have you had any previous roles before joining the firm?

I was an investment performance analyst for a team in York analysing local county council pension schemes and fund managers like Terry Smith at Fundsmith – I enjoyed the job but it was missing interaction and actually chatting to people, instead of behind a computer all day.

How has BHP helped you in your career so far?

I started on the graduate programme here, so everything I know about advising is really down to BHP and the Financial Planning team. The support during exams, the softer skills training and shadowing the experienced advisers all helped me to advise clients and continue to do so.

Who are you inspired by (inside or outside work)?

My brother Joe. Against the odds he was the first in the family to go to university, move away from Doncaster and get a successful job, all with incredible resilience to things outside of his control. He pushed me to play the guitar, go skiing, go to university and try things like pesto and avocado for the first time!

Where did you grow up/go to school/university?

I grew up in Doncaster, living there all through my childhood, and then I studied Mathematics at Durham University. I then moved straight to Leeds after university and started working – I’ve lived here ever since!

What do you do to unwind after a day in the office?

I like sports and fitness as my main outlet. I picked up Thai boxing, wrestling and Brazilian Jiu Jitsu at university and I’ve tried to carry that on since. Outside of that, I like football and squash, and I’ve recently started playing golf – I’m terrible.

What is the best meal you’ve ever eaten and why?

I would have to say 100% my nan’s roast dinner. I used to go to my grandparents’ house every Friday without fail until I was 22 and it will always be the best food I’ve eaten – the best roast potatoes out there! We would play cards and bet using Maltesers – they always let me win.

What might surprise people to learn about you?

I’m grade 8 in guitar and I can play the piano – although I can’t say I play as much anymore, so please don’t ask me to play a tune the next time we’re in a train station!